From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Friday, May 24, 2024
Charles A. Mills (author)
Tuesday, May 21, 2024
The Legend of Apache Tears
Apache tears are
rounded pebbles of obsidian found in Arizona. The name "Apache tear" comes from a legend of the Apache tribe.
In
1872, a band of raiding Apache horsemen were ambushed by a United States
Cavalry force from Picket Post Mountain. This small band of Pinal Apaches lived high
atop a mountain then known as Big Picacho.
The outnumbered Apaches were caught off guard
in a dawn attack. Seventy five Apache warriors were killed in the initial
attack, while the remaining Apache warriors rode off the side of the mountain,
now known as “Apache Leap,” rather than surrender.
Relatives of those who died gathered a short distance
from the base of the cliff and mourned their loved ones. Legend says their
sadness was so great that their tears were imbedded into black obsidian stones.
When held to the light, they are said to reveal the translucent tear of the
Apache. Found in great abundance near Superior, just a short distance from
historic Apache Leap, the Apache Tears are said to bring good luck to anyone
who has them in their possession.
The sadness of the families was so great, that the
Great Spirit turned their tears into black stones so that the warriors would
never be forgotten. Legend says that
whoever owns an Apache tear will never cry again, for the Apache women have
shed their tears in place of yours.
Friday, May 17, 2024
The Lost Dutchman’s Mine: Fact or Fiction?
Sorting out fact from
fiction is the great challenge for anyone interested in searching for the Lost
Dutchman’s Mine.
There was a Jacob Waltz, “the
Dutchman.” Waltz was born in Germany
around 1810, and immigrated to America in 1839.
Waltz arrived in New York City, but quickly made his way to goldfields
in North Carolina and Georgia.
Waltz did not strike
it rich in either North Carolina or Georgia, but he learned a valuable lesson,
that he had to be a citizen of the United States in order to stake a
claim. Waltz filed a letter of intent to
become a citizen on November 12, 1848.
Gold was discovered
in the newly annexed territory of California in 1849. The California fields
eclipsed the gold fields of the East, and Waltz, like every other prospector,
headed west.
Waltz worked as a
miner in California for eleven years. On July 19, 1861, in the Los Angeles
County Courthouse, Jacob Waltz became a naturalized citizen of the United
States.
Waltz left California
in 1863, with a group of prospectors bound for the Bradshaw Mountains of the
Arizona Territory. Waltz’s name appears on a mining claim filed in Prescott,
Arizona Territory, on September 21, 1863.
Waltz moved to the
Salt River Valley (an area near Phoenix and the Superstition Mountains) in
1868.
It was now that Waltz
began his trips into the mountains surrounding the Salt River Valley. Did Waltz discover a rich gold mine or cache
on one of these prospecting trips? Witnesses who knew Waltz, say Waltz prospected
every winter between 1868 -1886. Waltz died in Phoenix, Arizona Territory, on
October 25, 1891, in the home of Julia Thomas. Waltz gave Julia Thomas clues to
the location of a mine on his deathbed. Waltz is buried in the Pioneer Cemetery, in downtown
Phoenix.
Jacob
Waltz, the “Dutchman,” was dead. But the clues he left as to the location
of his mine remained alive in the dreams of Julia Thomas. Julia had looked
after Waltz before he died, and was the first of a long line of hunters
for the Lost Dutchman’s Mine.
Julia sold all of her worldly possessions to
finance a fruitless search for the mine.
Many historians
believe that Julia Thomas gave an interview to Pierpont C. Bicknell, a
freelance newspaper writer and prospector, shortly after her return from the
Superstition Mountains in September of 1892.
It is with the coming
of Pierpont C. Bicknell that things become murky. Prior to Bicknell’s arrival, there was little
public mention of the Lost Dutchman’s Mine.
On November 17th, 1894, an article
by Pierpont C. Bicknell describing a lost gold mine offering unlimited riches was published in the (Phoenix) Saturday Review. Bicknell wrote during
the age of “yellow journalism” when newspapers reveled in stories based on sensationalism and crude
exaggeration. Bicknell did not
disappoint.
Bicknell whetted the
appetite of the would-be treasure hunters and made the search seem relatively
simple. He wrote, “The district designated is not extensive. It lies
within an imaginary circle whose diameter is not more than five miles and whose
center is marked by the Weaver's
Needle, a prominent and fantastic volcanic
pinnacle that rises to a height of 2500 feet.
The legend of the
Lost Dutchman’s Mine might have withered into insignificance had it not been
for the mysterious death of Adolph Ruth, an amateur treasure hunter, in the
summer of 1931.
The same year, a group of folklore-loving
boosters founded the “Dons of Arizona” to promote the colorful folklore of the
state, including the Legend of the Lost Dutchman’s Mine. In 1945, Barry Storm published Thunder God’s Gold, which was made into
a major motion picture Lust for Gold
in 1948, starring Glenn Ford as Jacob Waltz.
In 1949, the Peralta Stones were unearthed, giving a further boost to
the legend. In 1964, Life magazine did a spread on the
Peralta Stones, giving yet further credence
to the legend.
Whether true or not, the Lost Dutchman's Mine is the most
famous treasure legend in American history. The Lost Dutchman's story
has been written about at least six times more often than the story
of Captain Kidd's famous lost treasure.
According to one estimate, eight thousand people annually make some
effort, however half-hearted, to locate the Lost Dutchman's Mine.
Thursday, May 16, 2024
The Lost Dutchman's Mine and the Peralta Stones
For over fifty years after the death of Jacob Waltz, treasure hunters followed the ambiguous clues that the Dutchman left behind as to the whereabouts of his mine. Something significant changed in 1949 when the so-called Peralta Stones were discovered in the desert.
Wednesday, May 15, 2024
The Dutchman's Curse: Mysterious Deaths in Arizona's Superstition Mountains
Over six hundred people have lost their lives
in the Superstition Mountains of Arizona, some under very mysterious
circumstances.
Legends of the Superstition Mountains
Sunday, March 24, 2024
Native Americans wipe out U.S. Army command (Not Custer)
On December 23, 1835, one
hundred and ten men under the command of Major Francis Dade left Fort
Brooke (present-day Tampa), to reinforce and resupply Fort King (present-day Ocala). Relations between the United States and the Seminoles in Florida had grown
increasingly hostile as the U.S. Army tried to forcefully relocate the Seminole
to reservations in Indian Territory (present day Oklahoma).
Major Dade knew he might be attacked, but
having crossed several rivers and the thicker woods, he felt relatively safe
and called in his flanking scouts in order to increase the speed of the
marching column. Major Dade had no idea of the number of enemies he might be
facing or where they might be. His
column was now completely blind.
Meanwhile, Seminole scouts watched the troops in their sky-blue uniforms
every foot of the way.
The troops marched for five quiet days
until December 28, when they were just south of the present-day city of
Bushnell. Suddenly, they withered under a volley of fire delivered by one
hundred and eighty hidden Seminole warriors.
Major Dade and half of his men were brought down immediately.
No organized defense was made. The cannon was discharged several times, but
the men around it were quickly shot down.
Most of the soldiers, still in two single file lines, were quickly
killed. Only three U.S. soldiers were reported to have survived
the attack.
Lack of intelligence
about the enemy, combined with the enemy’s use of terrain and the element of
surprise account for this U.S. Army defeat.
History's Ten Worst Generals
Tuesday, February 27, 2024
Virginia Witch Trials
The most famous
American witch trials occurred in Salem Massachusetts from 1692-1693, but
Virginia had its own witches and witch trials.
All right-minded people in the American colonies took the existence of
witches for granted. The Devil was always
a real and present danger. Despite being
on constant alert and ever vigilant, Virginians did not experience the same
degree of hysteria with regard to witches that gripped the Puritans of
Massachusetts. For one thing, clerical
influence was much a less factor in Virginia, where the clergy rarely
participated in witchcraft trials.
Unlike New England’s witch trial courts, where the accused had to prove
their innocence, in Virginia, the accuser had to demonstrate the accused was
guilty. Nineteen witchcraft trials were held in Virginia during the 17th
century. Most ended in the accused witch
being acquitted. In a 1656 case a man
was convicted of witchcraft and sentenced to whipping and banishment. There was no death penalty for witchcraft in
Virginia. The last
witchcraft trial in Virginia took place in 1802.
Virginia’s most famous
witch, the so called “Witch of Pungo” was one Grace Sherwood, a forty-six-year
old married woman from Princess Anne County.
Grace
was married to James Sherwood, a planter. The couple
had three sons: John, James, and Richard.
The family lived in Pungo (today part of Virginia Beach). Grace
Sherwood was a strong woman, a healer and herbalist, and someone with an
affinity for nature and animals. She did
not suffer fools easily. Here, at that
time, was a sure formula for trouble with the neighbors. And trouble she got.
In early 1697, Richard
Capps accused Grace of casting a spell that caused the death of his bull. The court found insufficient evidence of
witchcraft and the charge was dismissed.
The Sherwoods sued Capps for slander.
This case also went nowhere. The
following year, John Gisburne accused Grace of casting a spell on his pigs and
cotton crop. This resulted in another
case of insufficient evidence, and another failed defamation suit on the part
of the Sherwoods. The year 1698 was a
busy one for Grace Sherwood. Having
beaten back the accusations of John Gisburne, later in the year she was accused
by Elizabeth Barnes of having assumed the shape of a black cat. As a demonic cat, Grace was accused of having
entered the Barnes’ home in the night, where she proceeded to jump over the bed
and whip Elizabeth Barnes. The witch
then left through the keyhole. Not
surprisingly, this resulted in another case dismissed, and another failed defamation
suit on the part of the Sherwoods.
Things remained quiet for a number of years, until in 1705 Grace Sherwood was involved in a fight with her neighbor Elizabeth Hill. Sherwood sued Hill and her husband for assault and battery and was awarded monetary compensation in December 1705. This ruling by the court did nothing to calm tempers. On January 3, 1706, Elizabeth Hill accused Grace Sherwood of witchcraft, of having used her satanic powers to cause a miscarriage. In March 1706 the court ordered Sherwood’s house to be searched for waxen or baked figures that might indicate she was a witch. No luck here, the search produced nothing. The court next authorized a jury of twelve women to look for marks of the devil on Grace Sherwood’s body. The forewoman of this jury was the same Elizabeth Barnes who had previously accused Sherwood of witchcraft. This group discovered marks of the Devil, oddly enough.
Despite this overwhelming
evidence, authorities remained reluctant to declare Grace Sherwood a
witch. Authorities in Williamsburg, the
colonial capital, considered the charge against Sherwood too vague and ordered
the local court to examine the case in greater depth.
By July, Grace Sherwood was
worn out with travelling from her farm to court and thus consented when the
court offered her a trial
by ducking. The procedure here would
involve binding Grace and throwing her into the river; if she sank, she was innocent,
but if she floated, she was clearly a witch.
Grace Sherwood’s protestation that, “I be not a witch, I be a healer,” fell
on deaf ears. People had come in from
all over the colony to watch the spectacle.
The crowd began to chant, “Duck the witch.” A spot on the Lynnhaven River, now known as
Witchduck Point, was chosen for the test.
Grace Sherwood was securely bound, rowed out into the river, and thrown
from the boat. She rose to the
surface. Proof positive that she was a
witch. The court, with an over-abundance
of judicial caution, decided to give Grace a second chance to demonstrate her
innocence. The sheriff was ordered to
tie a thirteen-pound Bible around her neck. Grace was rowed back to the middle
of the river and thrown from the boat.
Weighted down by the Bible, she sank, but somehow managed to untie
herself and return to the surface. She
was definitely a witch, if there ever was one.
Grace Sherwood was convicted of
witchcraft and sentenced to imprisonment. Freed from prison by 1714, Grace returned to her home and lived peacefully until her death in 1740.
Some neighbors said the Devil took her body. Others pointed to the increase in unnatural storms and loitering black cats after her death. Locals killed every cat they could find,
which then lead to an infestation of rats in 1743.
Grace Sherwood lies in an
unmarked grave in a field near the intersection of Pungo Ferry Road and
Princess Anne Road in Virginia Beach. To this day, local residents tell of a mysterious moving light that
appears each July over the spot where Sherwood was thrown into the water. Is it possible that this is the restless
spirit of Grace Sherwood? Perhaps, but
not everyone is convinced that Grace Sherwood was a witch. The Governor of Virginia granted her a pardon
on July 10, 2006. Additionally, a statue
of Grace Sherwood was erected on Independence Boulevard in Virginia Beach.
Grace is shown alongside a raccoon, representing her love of animals,
and carrying a basket containing garlic and rosemary, in recognition of her knowledge of herbal healing.
Thursday, January 11, 2024
Tombstone Legends
Tombstone owed its creation to the discovery of
silver. The mines sat in the richest
productive silver district in Arizona.
The population of Tombstone grew from 100 to around 14,000 in less than seven
years.
Tombstone had four churches, a
school, two banks, three newspapers, and an ice-cream parlor, which sat amidst
110 saloons, 14 gambling halls, and numerous dance halls and brothels.
The town is best known as the site of the “Gunfight at the O.K. Corral.” At about 2:30 p.m. on Oct. 26, 1881,
the Earp brothers, Wyatt, Virgil and James along with Wyatt’s pal Doc Holiday,
representing the law, shot it out with an outlaw gang known as “The Cowboys.” Three of the outlaws were killed. During
the next five months, the gang struck back. Virgil Earp was ambushed and
maimed, and another of the Earp brothers, Morgan, was murdered. Wyatt, Warren Earp, Doc Holliday, and
others formed a posse that killed three more
Cowboys whom they thought responsible.
After the shootout in Tombstone, and
after leaving Arizona, Wyatt Earp was often the target of negative newspaper
stories that disparaged his reputation.
Some regarded him as little better than a murderer. This all changed with a heroic biography
published in 1931, Wyatt Earp: Frontier
Marshal by Stuart N. Lake. The book became a bestseller and created Wyatt
Earp’s reputation as a fearless lawman. Since then, films, television shows,
and works of fiction further added to the fame of Wyatt Earp.
Two
months after the Gunfight at the O.K. Corral, on December 26, 1881, the
Birdcage Theatre opened in Tombstone. The theater was owned by William Hutchinson.
Hutchison originally intended to present respectable family shows but found
that he could make more money by catering to a rougher crowd. The walls of the
Bird Cage were riddled with gunshot holes from the frequent shootouts. The theater also did extra duty as a saloon
and brothel.
Performing under the stage name “Fatima”, Fahreda Mazar Spyropoulos,
better known to history as “Little Egypt” got her start at the Bird
Cage. Spyropoulos popularized the
form of dancing, which came to be referred to as the
"Hoochee-Coochee", or the "shimmy and shake.” We now call this belly dancing. There is a larger-than-life sized painting in
the Bird Cage, which Spyropoulos
donated, entitled "Fatima". It bears six patched bullet holes; one
can be seen above the belly button and there is a knife gash in the canvas
below the knee.
Arizona Legends and Lore
Friday, December 15, 2023
Two Guns: An Arizona Ghost Town
Two Guns, Arizona is a ghost town located on the
Canyon Diablo gorge near Flagstaff, Arizona. The town was originally
known as Canyon Lodge and started out as a modest trading post at the beginning
of the 19th century.
The area has a colorful history. During
the winter of 1879-1880, Billy the Kid and his gang hid out on the west rim of
Canyon Diablo across from what is now Two Guns.
In 1880, long before Two Guns was established
as a settlement, the Santa Fe Railway was being built across northern
Arizona. At the point where the railroad
was set to cross Canyon Diablo, some three miles north of Two Guns,
construction halted while a trestle was being built. The railroad workers established a settlement
called Canyon Diablo which quickly became a lawless den of drifters, grifters,
gamblers and outlaws. In 1889 outlaws robbed the train at Canyon Diablo
making off with $100,000 in currency, 2,500 silver dollars, and $40,000 in gold
coins. A posse caught up with the
outlaws, but not before they buried their loot, which is thought to be buried
in the canyon rim near Two Guns.
More pioneers staked claims to the area over the years,
and by the early 1920s, a road through town, known as the National Trail
Highway, became the preferred route across Diablo Canyon.
When Earle and Louise Cundiff arrived in the area they
bought 320 acres of land, making the settlement known as Canyon Lodge a busy
stop for travelers. By the mid-1920s, what was once the National Trail Highway
was transforming into Route 66, and the once-isolated trading post was becoming
a busy stopping place for drivers looking for food and gas.
The business potential was not lost on one Harry
Miller a flamboyant veteran of the Spanish-American War. The eccentric Miller was a master of
publicity and self-promotion. In 1925, Harry “Two Guns” Miller made a deal with
the Cundiffs to lease a site for his business.
Miller renamed the Canyon Lodge trading post, Two Guns,
and set about putting the place on the map. Miller grew his hair long and
braided it. Claiming to be a full-blooded Apache, Miller assumed the name of Chief Crazy Thunder. Miller
constructed a rag-tag zoo with chicken-wire cages for animals native to
Arizona, including mountain lions. He
also started tours down into a canyon cave now called the Apache Death Cave.
In 1878, a group of Apache warriors
raided a Navajo camp killing everyone with the exception of three girls they
took hostage. The enraged Navajos from
surrounding villages set out after the marauders. The Navajo finally tracked
down the wily Apache warriors who had been hiding their camp in an underground
cavern. The Navajo lit a fire at the
mouth of the cave. All forty-two Apache
warriors died in the cave.
Although an interesting part of Arizona history, the
showman Henry Miller thought the story needed even more sizzle. Miller built fake ruins and started selling
the bones and skulls of the long dead Apache warriors as souvenirs. He put in electric lights and a soda stand
and renamed the death cave the “Mystery Cave.”
It was around this time that the legends of “The Curse
of Two Guns” began. The broad wording of Miller’s lease had always been a
source of tension between him and Earl Cundiff, and that tension finally came
to a head on March 3, 1926, when Miller shot and killed Cundiff (he was later
acquitted of murder). Shortly after his
trial Miller was mauled by a mountain lion.
Soon after he was bitten by a Gila monster.
The town was sold in the 1950s and throughout the decade
it would be leased and abandoned multiple times, until a man named Dreher
revitalized the area. Things were looking good for the town. The I-40 was
finally coming through the area and even had a dedicated exit. However, a fire
destroyed the town in 1971, sealing its fate. Today, Two Guns stands as a
ghost town, with the remnants of its past still visible. Some structures have
collapsed, while others are in a state of disrepair. Efforts have been made to
preserve the site's history and prevent further deterioration, but Two Guns
remains a poignant reminder of the changing fortunes of towns along historic
Route 66. The site has become a destination for those interested in ghost towns
and abandoned places.
Gold, Murder and Monsters in the Superstition Mountains
Arizona’s Superstition Mountains are mysterious, forbidding, and dangerous. The Superstitions are said to have claimed over five hundred lives. What were these people looking for? Is it possible that these mountains hide a vast treasure? Is it possible that UFOs land here? Is it possible that in these mountains there is a door leading to the great underground city of the Lizard Men? Join us as we recount a fictional story of the Superstitions and then look at the real history of the legends that haunt these mountains in our new book: Gold, Murder and Monsters in the Superstition Mountains.
Sunday, November 26, 2023
Arizona's "Red Ghost" (A True Story)
Throughout the early 19th century various
proposals were made to use camels imported from the Middle East to transport
supplies in the deserts of the southwest.
A proposal by then Secretary of War Jefferson Davis was finally approved
in 1855 which led to the establishment of the U.S. Camel Corps.
While the camels were found useful, their big
drawback was that they spooked the horses and mules, creating chaos in the
camp. After a twenty year experiment the
Camel Corps was disbanded, and the camels auctioned off. Well, most of them were auctioned off, but
some were let go in the wild. Producing
one of Arizona’s strangest legends, that of the Red Ghost.
The story began in 1883 when two ranchers
went to check on their cattle, leaving their wives at home, alone. One of the women was outside fetching water
when the dog started barking furiously.
Then there was a loud scream. The
woman in the house barricaded the door and looked out the window to see a huge
red beast being ridden by the devil. When
the two ranchers returned, they found one woman trampled to death and the other
in shock.
A few days later a group of prospectors
reported the apparition riding through their camp. Red hair was found at the site. The next sighting reported that the creature
was thirty feet tall and had overturned two wagons. The legend grew. The monster was said to disappear into thin
air when chased. The monster killed and
ate grizzly bears. A cowboy lassoed the beast, but he and his horse were dragged by the creature before losing it. The cowboy reported that the mysterious rider
was a skeleton. A few months later five
men shot at the beast, missing the camel but shooting the head off the
skeleton. The skull still had traces of
skin and hair attached.
Fact and fantasy swirled around the strange phantom until
1893 when a local rancher named Hastings found the giant creature
eating grass in his yard. He killed it with one shot from his Winchester rifle.
The
beast from Hell was discovered to be a feral red-haired camel left over from
the days of the U.S. Camel Corps. Leather straps had bound the skeleton so
tightly, and for so long, to the camel that the animal’s back and sides were
scarred. No one knows why the animal had a dead man strapped to it, but some
speculated that this was the last attempt of a dying prospector to escape the
killing desert sun.
Wednesday, November 15, 2023
Hi Jolly and the U.S. Camel Corps
In 1855 the U.S. government approved an experimental plan to use camels imported from the Middle East for transporting supplies and equipment across the deserts of the American Southwest. The U.S. Camel Corps, headquartered in Texas, was born.
Two years into the experiment an expedition under the
command of Edward F. Beale was ordered to open a wagon road across Arizona to
California. The expedition left San Antonio on June 25, 1857, and 25 pack
camels accompanied a train of mule-drawn wagons. Each camel carried a load of
600 pounds. Beale wrote that he would rather have one camel than four mules.
The expedition
included a camel drover named Hadji Ali, who was soon dubbed “Hi Jolly” by his
American counterparts. Ali was born as Philip Tedro around
1828, to a Greek mother and a Syrian father. As a young man, he converted to
Islam and took the name Hadji
Ali.
As the camels moved west under Hi Jolly’s guidance,
they proved themselves superior to horses in terms of endurance. There was a major problem however, the sight of
the large animals frightened horses and mules, creating general chaos among the
animals.
The U.S. Camel Corps experiment came to an end by 1866. The camels were auctioned off, and some were
set loose in the desert forming small herds.
Rumors of wild camels in Arizona were still prevalent in Arizona during
the 1930s and 1940s.
Hi Jolly stayed in Arizona and became a scout for the
Army, assisting General Crook with the Geronimo Campaign. He died in December 1902 at the age of 64 in
Quartzsite, Arizona. Hi Jolly's work in the
US Camel Corps earned him a reputation as a living legend until his death.
In
1935, the Governor of Arizona dedicated a monument to Hadji Ali and the
Camel Corps in the Quartzsite Cemetery. The monument, located at his gravesite,
is a pyramid built from local stones and topped with a copper camel, and is
listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
Legends of the Superstition Mountains
Wars and Invasions (Four alternative history stories)
Saturday, November 11, 2023
The Legend of Hacksaw Tom
Between 1905 and 1915 a bandit nicknamed “Hacksaw Tom” supposedly carried out a series of robberies on wagons and stagecoaches along Arizona’s Apache Trail (the last stagecoach went out of business in Arizona in 1920 when the road to Young, AZ was paved and the commercial stagecoach was replaced by a Ford.)
A steep grade at Fish Creek, which caused vehicles to
slow to a crawl was Tom’s ambush site.
He would step out from behind a boulder and level his sawed-off shotgun
at the driver. No one resisted. Tom
never used a horse in his robberies. He appeared on foot, carried out this
robbery, and then scampered up and over the boulders of Fish Creek to safety,
seldom pursued by anyone.
Despite his menacing presence, Hacksaw Tom never fired
a shot. He became an anticipated feature
for travelers on the Apache Trail. It is
said that some stagecoach drivers invited their friends along just so they
could tell people they had been “held up.”
In the mid-1900s a cave was found near Fish Creek
which may have been Tom’s hideout. In
any event, a carpetbag was found in the cave which contained, among other things, a sawed-off shotgun and a flour sack mask.
There is not much written documentation
to support this tale, which relies heavily on oral tradition. Several robberies along the Apache Trail that
went unsolved are recorded. The exact locations of these robberies have been
lost to history. And yet, we have a very intriguing mask and shotgun.
Gold, Murder and Monsters in the Superstition Mountains
Custer’s Last Stand Re-examined